Wellness Wednesday #2

7 Oct

This week I’m having to remind myself that slow and steady wins the race. I have established some really heinous wellness habits in the recent months, and it is going to take time to undo those. Rather than rapidly dropping a bunch of weight, I want to focus on creating new habits that I can keep up long term.

At the same time, I don’t want to use that as an excuse not to challenge myself.

1. What am I proud of this week?

This wasn’t an easy week. I was sick, and I had a weekend-long work trip. But I made a sincere effort to put more thought into what I was doing and eating. I’m paying more attention, and I think it will pay off in the long run.

2. What can I do better next week?

Part of “paying more attention” is realizing just how bad my eating habits have become. I love dessert and high-calorie coffee drinks. Loving them isn’t the problem — it’s having large servings of them multiple times per day. I am realizing that I crave sugar, and it’s because I’ve been letting myself eat it without any effort to be reasonable in my consumption.

3. How did I engage in spiritual/emotional self-care this week?

Physical and spiritual/emotional well-being go hand in hand, and this week was full of paying attention to a pretty specific physical need. Near the end of last week, I was exhausted, and I sensed that I was probably coming down with some seasonal crud. I wanted to go to the gym, clean the house, etc., but I chose to rest instead. I did end up coming down with the crud, but (*fingers crossed*) I’m feeling mostly better this week.

4. How did I do on my goals for last week?

Track my calories honestly every day: I did pretty well with this one. Because I traveled over the weekend, I had a little bit of a hard time keeping up with some of the things I ate, and I actually gave up on dealing with it Saturday when I had an all-day work event. But for the most part I entered things into MyFitnessPal. I wasn’t crazed over it, and I went over my “limit” several days, but I have a better idea of what I’m consuming, and even just tracking it made me think more about my choices.

Work out at least three times for 30 minutes each: Nope. I worked out once. I took a few nights off because I wasn’t feeling well, and while I had good intentions of working out at the hotel in Houston (I brought workout clothes), it just didn’t happen because I was worn slap out. I’m having a hard time finding motivation to go to the gym in the evenings after the kids are in bed, but I’m just going to have to suck it up and do it.

Finish Daring Greatly: I didn’t finish it, but I read a huge portion of it!

5. What are three goals for the coming week?

I’m going to stick with my three goals from last week and see how I do.

Leave a Reply

